Africa Movie Academy Award Nominations To Be Held On 2nd April At Emperor's Palace In Johannesburg

Press Release:

Come the 2nd of April, The Africa Film Academy will host African filmmakers and celebrities during the 10th Africa Movie Academy Awards Nominations event to be held at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg.

This gathering of the cream of African filmmakers will run from the 1st to the 3rd of April during which the business community, celebrities and their counterparts from South Africa will be hosted with style with opportunities to network and mingle. Celebrities attending the event are Ramsey Noah (Nigeria), Lydia Forson (Ghana), Chinedu Ikezie, Osita Iheme, Kanayo O Kanayo, Funke Akindele and Uche Jumbo.

"We have done a lot of work in the Southern region in the past year and in a way it is to give back to President Jacob Zuma and Mrs. Joyce Banda, the president of Malawi who hosted the AMAA Nominations in 2013", says Ms Anyiam-Osigwe.

The Director of Administration of the organisation, Mr Tony Anih said AMAA is very excited with the prospect of having movie icons and other players in the motion picture industry coming to South Africa for the nominations event.

According to Mr. Anih the AMAA nominations is an event where films that make it into the 25 categories of the awards are announced ahead of the main award ceremony, which is billed to hold in Bayelsa State this year, adding that in the last nine years AMAA has deliberately moved the nomination events from one country to the other within the continent.

''AMAA is a continental brand and reward system for motion picture practitioners. It is our way to promoting the Africaness of the award and also celebrates our culture and diversity. This year we decided to come to South Africa because of the level of growing popularity and acceptability of African films, most especially Nollywood and Gollywood movies in the country,'' said Anih.

The illustrious Jury comprises of Berni Goldblat, Steve Ayorinde, John Akomfrah, Keith Shiri, June Givanni, Hyginus Ozoemen Ekwuazi, Shaibu Husseini, Ayoku Babu, Asantewa Olatunji and Dorothee Wenner

The Africa Movie Academy Awards is generously sponsored by The Bayelsa State Government and covered in the media by Cool 96.9 FM, Wazobia 95.1 FM, Nigeria Info FM, Bella Naija and Ebony Life Television.
Powered by Blogger.